h1

Bean Soup Recipe

June 9, 2009

Last night, I made a simple soup of black beans, black eyed peas, and chickpeas. I have all these dried, so I measured 1/4 cup of each, then quick soaked them. Quick soaking still involves an hour of soaking, so it is not as quick as some other cooking activities. After they soaked, I rinsed them, saving the soak water for my plants. I put them back in the pot, covered them with fresh water, and added a fourth of a cup of brown rice. I cooked the soup for about 45 minutes. During the last 15 minutes, I added some precooked shredded chicken I had in the fridge. I seasoned everything with a small amount of salt, and a teaspoon of lemon and pepper seasoning. It turned out great. I like beans to still be on the firm side instead of squishy or soft. If you like beans just this side of mush, you should probably soak longer, and then cook longer than I did.

Today for lunch, I had this again and it was even better the second time around. The lemon and pepper seems to have had time to really soak in. When I make this next time, I think I will add some diced onions and celery, and sliced carrots. It is great as is, but I like to make something new each time.

Another benefit of this dish is the low cost. All the beans were dried, I had the rice and chicken on hand, as well as the seasonings. You could say I ‘shopped from the pantry.’ Even if I had bought everything last night, this still would have been a cheap dish since I only used one-fourth cup of the beans and rice. I still have plenty left for my next soup creations.

One comment

  1. […] post:  Bean Soup Recipe You May Link To Us Using The Code BelowLinking to our pages with daily updated pages and newly […]



Leave a Reply

