h1

Plant Love for the Office

February 4, 2009

I moved into a new building, and hence a new office at work. I really like the new office, mostly because I have actual walls around me now and no one can walk behind me and look at what I’m reading. 🙂

Anyway, I brought a plant into work and a co-worker stopped by and admired my living plant. She said she only has fake plants because she can’t keep a real one alive. I said I used to be that way, but I liked the live ones because of how well they clean the air. Especially since I just moved, what with the new carpet and new paint, I was glad to have a living plant. She looked at me quizzically and said she had never heard that. Yes, she had never heard that plants help keep the air in your office clean.

So, I think it’s a good time to review the benefits of having plants at work, and which ones clean the air the most. Any plant is going to absorb stuff we can’t breath, like toxins and carbon dioxide, and give off the stuff we can  breath, oxygen.

So, the top plants to have in the office are Chinese Evergreen, English Ivy, Gerber Daisy, Janet Craig, Marginata, Mass cane/Corn Plant, Mother-in-Law’s Tongue, Pot Mum, Peace Lily, Warneckii, and Bamboo Palm.  These are the best, but if all you have are some jade plants, a violet, and a tiny pot of rosemary, bring them to work! Some plants are better than no plants. If you have other plants that you love, and that are native to your area, that’s great too. Look at what’s around you, what grows in your area, and is available at your local garden center.

Bring a plant to work and breath easy.

2 comments

  1. I need to put a plant on my desk…. I sneeze repeatedly all day long. It’s ridiculous. People don’t even bother saying “Bless you” anymore.


  2. A plant could totally help that. 🙂



Leave a Reply

