h1

Simple Supper

February 2, 2009

This weekend, I decided to make a fully veggie dish for supper. I started out with a pint of black eyed peas I had put up this summer, and two cups of water.  I cooked them for a while (I like my peas mushy) and then I added a cup of frozen butterbeans. These I bought at the grocery store, but they have been good in everything I’ve added them to so far.  After that cooked for a while, I added a fourth cup of lentils and a fourth cup of brown rice. I cooked it until those were soft, and it was done. Salt and pepper to taste and you have a hearty lunch or supper.

Sorry I don’t have times on the cooking. I read my book at the the kitchen table while it was cooking and every time I got to the end of a chapter, I checked on it, adding water or ingredients as I went. I find that the more I cook, the less I need a recipe. I am finally to the point where I have some favorite dishes that I can just make. Also, I am much better at seeing ingredients and coming up with a dish. When I was first on my own, I would have items in the pantry and the cabinet and have no idea how they could go together. I have come a long way, and I am thrilled.

What’s your favorite simple supper, veggie or otherwise?

Leave a Reply

