h1

Sew in Love

January 22, 2009

Back in November, I got my very first sewing machine. I am learning how to use it. I think I have moved from complete novice to beginner.  For Christmas, I made coasters, and a drawer sachet filled with cedar. I have made a potholder, a fabric gift bag, and a purse organizer. I’ll post some pictures soon.

Next on my project list are throw pillows, curtains for my living room and kitchen, a dog bed, and then clothes for me. I think when I am able to make clothes that look good, and exactly fit me, I will be completely free of clothing stores, trends, and almost-but-not-quite-perfect clothes.

I wanted to get into sewing for several reasons. I want to be able to make gifts for friends and family that are personal, they will actually like and they will actually use. I want to make things for my self that are one of a kind and fit my life. Sewing uses so many skills, I can feel my brain growing every time I sit down to complete a new project. I am having to think in new ways, travel down paths I have never seen before.  It is exciting and challenging.

There are many sites out there for sewing inspiration, but here are three I check every day.

Threadbanger
One Pretty Thing
Crafster

Leave a Reply

