h1

Reusable Drinking Straws

August 26, 2008

I still use plastic drinking straws.  Sigh, I know, these are a one use item, unless you wash them which I usually do.  Still, they don’t last forever and then they are just more plastic, sitting in a landfill, forever. I am finishing up a bag of straws that I bought several years ago.  When they are finally gone, I will buy reusable, compostable or recyclable straws.

Glass
Green Home offers a beautiful set of glass drinking straws, complete with a brush sized just right for cleaning them.  I think these would be perfect for my smoothies, that I love to sip on throughout the morning.  These are my favorite of all possible options.

Compostable
Green Home also offers compostable straws made from corn.  These are offered in boxes of 4000 straws which is WAY more than I need. I would love to see these at restaurants.

Bamboo
Bamboo is another reusable, washable alternative.  Bamboo will last much longer than plastic, although not as long as the glass.  When they are finally worn out, they are completely compostable. I like these because you can get a set of 12 for a very reasonable price.  I think these would be awesome for my next friendly get-together.

If you are in the market for a better drinking straw, I think you couldn’t go wrong with any of these options.

One comment

  1. […] Glass or Bamboo Straws. The novelty of these make them a great gift and might inspire the recipient to think about their future plastic straw choices. […]



Leave a Reply

