h1

Replace my cotton balls

August 12, 2008

So, Erin over at Going Green offered to send out little squares of cloth to use as replacements for cotton balls.  I use a few cotton balls a week, so I was happy to take her up on the generous offer.  They came in the mail yesterday and they are so cool!

Each one is about two inches square although they are a little more rectangular than square.  They are stitched all around so they won’t fall apart.  I emailed her to ask if they need to be in a mesh bag when I wash them, and she said just tossing them in with the regular wash load should work fine. Cool!

(Sorry no pictures, camera is broken.  Hope to have a working one soon.)

Cotton is versatile plant and there are arguments on both sides about the value of growing it.  What I am concerned about is simply to reduce to amount of what I throw away.  If I can replace a one use item with something I can get tens or hundreds of uses out of, then to me, that is the better option.  Plus, not buying another bag of cotton balls means one less plastic bag coming into my life.  It is a win on two fronts.

Leave a Reply

