h1

Chicken Crock Pot Stew

August 5, 2008

Burbon Mom has a great tip for this month. “Use your crock pot instead of he ‘big oven’ to make dinner. You’ll save about 16kWh per meal!” In addition to the energy savings, using a crock pot is a way to stretch your food dollars. Inspired by this quote, I wanted to share the latest yummy crock pot meal I made.

Chicken Crock pot Stew

2 to 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth (that I had in the freezer, made the last time I boiled a whole chicken)

1 cup water

1 can of black beans, with liquid

1 can of cream style corn

1/4 cup lentils

3/4 cup brown rice

2 boneless skinless chicken breasts

Fresh dill cut right off the plant (it does not get fresher than that)

1 T Lemon and pepper seasoning

2 peeled and diced tomatoes, from grandmother’s garden.

Put the crock pot on low and let it cook all night. When you are putting everything in the crock pot, it is not necessary to thaw your frozen ingredients.

The next morning, I had a bubbling soup of beauty. I forked out the chicken breasts, shredded them and then stirred them back in. When I make this next time, I will substitute some other spice for the dill. I like it with the dill, but I like trying new things. This will feed one person, six times.

Leave a Reply

