h1

Blueberries

July 23, 2008

Yesterday I picked blueberries for me. šŸ™‚ I had picked twice this summer so far, but everyone of those had been for my good friend. Yesterday, I realized the season of blueberry picking would not last much longer and if I wanted some for me, I needed to hurry up.

Ice cream bucket in hand, I drove to my dads and walked out to the bushes. My sweet dog went with me which was adorable, except for the part where he wanted to sit on my feet. Have you tried picking, well anything, with a 40 pound dog on your feet? It’s challenging.

I managed to get seven and a half pints picked before it got to dark to see. I froze the berries, because I will probably be using almost all of them in smoothies or pancakes. I’m not really keen on making jelly although I know how yummy it is. Jelly making is just not a passion of mine.

So, what else can I do with these berries? Turns out a lot. Here are two sites full of ideas. Blueberry Recipes and more Blueberry Recipes.

I found this on the second site, Blueberry Recipes and it looks fantastic. Here’s the recipe.

Blueberry Banana Blast

a thick and rich breakfast smoothie

150g / 5 oz blackberries
150g / 5 oz blueberries
1 banana, peeled and cut into chunks
225 ml / 8 fl oz apple juice
ice cubes to serve
Extra blueberries and blackberries to garnish

Place the fruits and juice into blender and blend until smooth.
Pour into a glass over ice and garnish with blueberries and blackberries.

What I like best about this one is the inclusion of apple juice instead of soy milk, regular milk or yogurt. Up to now, I have made all my smoothies with milk and/or yogurt. It never occurred to me to try apple juice. I cannot WAIT to try this when I get home.

What is your favorite way to eat blueberries?

Leave a Reply

