h1

Peas and Smoothies, But Not Together

July 14, 2008

The black-eyed peas are ready.  I have spent the last several days picking and shelling and freezing.  I have 10 pints put up so far.  For my first year ever to put up my own vegetables, I am happy with my modest start.

I have lots of fruit for smoothies in the freezer as well.  Last night’s smoothie was a fruity delight.  I used about a cup of cantaloupe, a half cup of blueberries, a half cup of blackberries, a half cup of yogurt, and a half cup of vanilla soy milk.  It was wonderful.  I bought six bananas at the grocery store, and now, all those are in the freezer as well.  I think tonight’s smoothie will be banana, cantaloupe, blueberry, yogurt, and milk.  The black berries were good, but oh my, the seeds.

Often, a smoothie is considered a breakfast or lunch option but I prefer coffee in the morning, along with a granola bar.  I like a nice hearty lunch and a smaller supper.  A smoothie fits the bill perfectly.  Also, if I have a smoothie for supper, I’m not heating my up my kitchen.

What’s your favorite smoothie recipe?

5 comments

  1. Do you mind explaining how you freeze bananas?

    This is a good smoothie recipes:

    1 cup vanilla soy milk
    1/4 cup cinnamon applesauce
    1 small to medium banana


  2. I remove the peel and put the banana whole into a ziplock freezer bag. When I get ready to use it, I slice it, then put the slices in my blender. Thanks for the recipe.


  3. Jill/A GreenFire You won the seedballz! You need to send me your mailing info so I can send them out

    My favorite smoothie is two scoops of chocolate Ice cream 1 cup of milk. some hersheys syrup and of course 1 banana (optional) What? A milkshake? No it IS a smoothie Ma! THere IS a banana in it!


  4. OH P.S. my email is Robj98168@yahoo.com


  5. Any time there’s fruit, I say call it a smoothie. 😉



Leave a Reply

