h1

Do We Really Own Our Stuff?

July 14, 2008

I just read this article at NPR.org.  The point is that if we cannot repair what we own, do we truly own it?

I have been thinking for a while about our throw-away society.  I try to make what I have last as long as possible, but there are many items I have, that I know I cannot repair.  For example, if my DVD/VCR player croaks, I do not know how to fix that.  Also, it has gotten to the point that it is cheaper to buy a new one than for me to pay someone to fix it.  How crazy is that?

I remember a pair of socks I had in high school.  I LOVED those socks.  I took them with me to college where I finally wore out the heels.  Instead of buying new ones, I used thread and repaired the holes. Everyone I showed them too was not impressed.  “Why don’t you just buy new socks?” was the question I was asked again and again.  New socks were not the point.  The point was I fixed an item that I loved, and wanted to keep.  This is the same point Mr. Jalopy makes in the NPR article.  We as a nation need to get back to learning how to fix what we own.

What do you know how to repair, or wish you knew how to repair?

Leave a Reply

