h1

Supper Delight

July 11, 2008

Last night I made turkey burgers.  Some people don’t like turkey because they think it is too bland.  I added a packet of dry ranch dressing mix to the meat.  I cooked these in a skillet.  They turned out very yummy.  I added sharp cheddar cheese and thin slices of pealed cucumber that had been fresh picked that day.  I have two patties left, which I will have for supper tonight, and tomorrow night.

There are tons of way to dress up ground turkey meat if you are thinking of giving it a go, but are scared it will have no flavor.

1) You can peal and dice an apple and incorportate it into the meat.  It adds a new texture and a fun burst of sweetness to your burger.  This might work with pears too, but I have not tried it.

2) One time, I cubed Velvetta cheese and put it in the meat.  That gives you ready made cheese burgers.  This is a messy option, especially if you are cooking on a George Forman grill, but the taste is supurb.  This is a big hit with kids too.  They LOVE cheese.

3)For years, I put Lipton Onion Soup mix into my ground beef, or ground turkey.  This adds a strong onion flavor to your burger, which I enjoyed.

4) Dry Italian dressing mix can be used instead of the ranch.

5) I have not tried it, because I think it would be too hot a burger for me, but some people add Tony Chachere’s Creole Spice.  I hear that makes a good burger.

There are unlimited options to dress up your burger, before you cook it.  What’s your favorite spice or ingredient when cooking hamburgers?

Leave a Reply

