h1

Summer’s Bounty

July 8, 2008

We finally got some rain.  The blueberry bushes are bursting with fruit and the blackeyed peas are growing like crazy.  I spent last night and the night before shelling peas.  Tonight, I will blanch and then freeze them.  I am excited because this is the first time I have ever put up my own vegetables.

Last night, I made the most wonderful soup.  My friend came to visit and she brought me some smoked deer hindquarter.  I decided to put it in the crock pot with crowder peas, diced tomatoes, string beans, lentils, and black beans.  For the liquid, I used homemade chicken stock.  I put it on at six pm, and cooked it on low all night.  This morning, I had rich, flavorful soup.  It tastes heavenly.  I brought some for lunch, and I have enough for lunch for the rest of the week, and maybe a supper or two.  I know most people cannot handle the same meal that often.  If you have a family, you can think of it as seven to eight servings, so depending on your family, it is probably only one or two meals.  I plan to eat it with a few crackers.

Leave a Reply

