h1

Cheap Meals

July 1, 2008

Recently, I boiled a five pound chicken.  I had a great recipe for a 3 1/2 pound chicken, but my five pounder was too big, so I just cut it up and boiled it.  This gave me six meals.  I shredded some, and had a super yummy salad.  I mixed some with barbque sauce and had a sandwich for lunch.  I ate one leg and thigh for supper the night I cooked it.  Last night, I shredded the last of it and made chicken enchiladas.  It made enough for  three meals.  Also, I saved the water I boiled it in, and I have plenty of chicken broth for future cooking needs.

I think six meals from one bird is pretty darn good.

Another frugal meal was a box of generic stroganoff hamburger helper.  I cooked a medium onion, a heaping tablespoon of diced garlic and one pound of ground turkey together.  I followed the box directions for the rest of the cooking.  That made 5 meals.  I ate one portion for supper, and refriderated the rest in single servings.  I have four lunches.  I also cut up a cucumber, and a garden fresh tomato.  I put them in single serving containers with a little bit of italian dressing.  Now I have a great lunch for the rest of the week, with raisins for a snack.  I only needed four meals for this week, since I have Friday off.

Best of all, I don’t have to cook again until Thursday night, and even then, I already have a plan.  I have in the freezer, filleted fish, caught this past weekend.  A nice side salad and I’m set for at least two more days.

The best way to stretch your food dollars is think beyond one cooking.  How can you stretch it?  How can you make leftovers interesting each day so you don’t get tired of them?  One new thing I will be doing is smoothies for breakfast.  Usually, I eat the same thing every day, a granola bar and a piece of string cheese, and coffee.  Well, the blueberries are ripe, and I’m getting a blender.  Soon, it will be smoothies for breakfast.  I’ll let you know what I’m blending up, and how they are turning out.

Do you have a favorite cheap meal? I’d love to read about it in comments.

Leave a Reply

