h1

Banana Anyone?

June 20, 2008

I thought this article was interesting, and thought I would share it with you.

Yes, We will have no bananas

Go read it, I’ll wait.

I certainly learned a lot from this.  I knew all bananas were the same, but I never really questioned why there are different apples, different potatoes, different onions, and different varieties of all the other fruits and veggies I shop for, but only one kind of banana.   It makes sense to me now, but now I’m extremely curious as to what those other flavors of banana tastes like.  Unless I travel to where they grow, I don’t think I will ever find out.

I don’t think I will miss bananas too much if they are no longer shipped here.  I don’t eat them that much now.  I am moving in a eat locally direction, and bananas sure aren’t ‘local.’  I wonder if the prices go up to truly reflect the effort that goes into their production; the demand will drop so much that shipping will cease long before the fungus kills them off.

How about you?  Will you still eat banana’s if the price dramatically rises?  Will you miss bananas if they are no longer shipped here?

Leave a Reply

