h1

Vegetable Soup

May 30, 2008

I haven’t talked to much lately about how to be frugal.  I recently combined several methods.  1-I made a vegetarian meal 2-at home, and 3-I ate all the leftovers over several days, many of those as 4-lunches I brought to work.

I made this soup in the crock pot.

One cup of dried lentils

One can of string beans, black-eyed peas,  English peas,  black beans,  and diced tomatoes.

One tablespoon diced garlic

Salt and pepper to taste

I used frozen chicken broth (made myself earlier in the month) as the base, and added just a little bit of water.  I put it all in the crock pot and put the lid on.  I cooked it on low for around four hours, then I added the tomatoes.  While the tomatoes were heating through, I cooked cornbread.

When the cornbread was finished, I crumbled a piece in my bowl and spooned the soup over the top.

YUM!

This made seven servings.  If you are the kind of person who cannot eat leftovers, this would easily freeze.  Just store the soup in single servings and you can then reheat on the stove later.

SAVINGS:

If you figure I would have spent $5 a lunch for 5 days, that’s a savings of $25 dollars.  Also, I stayed in one place, instead of driving to buy lunch.  That saved 30 miles for the week.

Leave a Reply

