h1

Seedling Babies

May 20, 2008

I planted my dill in one of my water bottle planters, because the toilet paper tubes were not doing the trick.  I had one seedling come up, so I put it in, and I used dirt from the other tubes to fill the planter.  Well, now I have eight seedling!  I think the problem was the tubes just did not hold water long enough, so the dirt was too dry.  Seedling Babies

When I got up this morning, that seedling was up, and so were several others.   All my inside plants are doing well.  My climbing ivy is climbing beautifully.

Climbing Ivy

I also have some small ivy in another water bottle planter, and it is doing well too. In this photo, you can see the whole planter.  There is a bit of cloth in the neck of the bottle to act as a wick.  It looks kind of ugly right now, but I am thinking of painting the bottle with some non-toxic paint, now that I know plants will actually thrive in this type planter.

Water Bottle Planter Ivy

Next will be to see if the rest of my dill and rosemary seeds come up.  I planted them in regular pots this weekend.  In seven to twenty one days, maybe I will have some more little seedling babies.

One comment

  1. […] unknown wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptI planted my dill in one of my water bottle planters, because the toilet paper tubes were not doing the trick. I had one seedling come up, so I put it in, and I used dirt from the other tubes to fill the planter. … […]



Leave a Reply

