h1

Baby Lettuce

May 8, 2008

I have teensy tiny little shoots coming up!  Ever since I planted the seeds in the hanging basket on my porch, I have been peeking in there to see if anything was happening.  Last night when I got home from work, there they were!  Tiny little stems with tiny little leaves.  I am so excited. It is crazy how much joy growing my own food is bringing me.  If I had known raising veggies would be this much fun, I would have done this years ago.

My dill and rosemary seeds have not sprouted yet.  No stress, the packages say 7 to 10 days and 12-15 days respectively.  So, they still have plenty of time to sprout.

All my plants in the bed are doing ok.  Most have put on a tiny bit of new growth.  We are expecting a good bit of rain today, so they will get a good watering.  I hope we do not get any hail, b/c then they may get a good beating too. 😦

One of the blogs I keep up with recommends a salad mix called Salad Leaves: Niche Oriental Mixed, but it is not lettuce, instead, it contains two kinds of mustard, two something I don’t know what, and arugula.  She swears it is some of the best stuff she had ever eaten.  I am intrigued.  However, I want to get some success with what I have planted so far before I start ordering seeds and planting stuff all willy-nilly.

I have grand plans for what I have planted thus far.  I found a great recipe for stuffed bell peppers.  I have a yellow bell pepper plant in the ground.  So, I’m thinking, use ground turkey or chicken for the meat, use a yellow bell instead of the more common green, and stay with the rest of the recipe.  It will be a few months before I get to try it, but I will let you know how it works out.

One comment

  1. My favorite bell peppers are the red ones! yumyumyum.



Leave a Reply

