h1

Buy Nothing Challenge Continues

April 25, 2008

I have done pretty well so far. I think I will blow it at the end of the month however. My propane ran out, and I have a gas stove. My central AC unit died and I live in the deep south, in a trailer. A trailer is a big metal box. To live in a big metal box in the heat of the summer requires AC.

I am considering replacing my central unit and booking my propane in one fell swoop. This would be a huge expenditure and I am not doing it on a whim. The alternative is to wait to buy propane, and pay possibly twice as much for it when the cold comes again.

I could try to live the summer using just open windows and a ceiling fan. I think I would survive, but I wonder about my possessions. I have a lot of books and exposing them to a summer of heat and humidity seems like it would be hard on them.

Dilemma, dilemma.

Leave a Reply

