h1

Going green and being debt free one day at a time.

April 6, 2008

Welcome to my blog.  Over the coming days and weeks I plan to share my frugal lifestyle, my green lifestyle and often, how the two overlap.  I became frugal before I truly embraced the green life, and I have been pleased at how well the two mesh together.

Here are some of the things I do to save money.

1. All my lightbulbs are CFL’s.

2. I dry most of my clothes on a drying rack.

3. I open all my blinds and curtains during the day to make the most of the sunlight and when I have to turn the lights on, I only turn them on in the room where I am.

4. I unplug everything except the appliances too big to move.  For example, unless I am watching the TV, it is unplugged.  Unless I am using the microwave, it is unplugged.  From the first month I adopted this practice, my electric bill dropped.

5. I cook a big meal and then enjoy the leftovers.  This one would not work for everyone, but luckily, I like leftovers.  For example, this weekend, I made vegetable soup in the crock pot, and I have portioned out the rest into single servings to enjoy in the coming week.  I have six servings left.

These are just some of my frugal habits.  I look forward to sharing more in future posts.

Leave a Reply

