h1

Vintage Embroidery Owl

May 18, 2010

I took up embroidery as a hobby and I love it. Recently,  I completed a project I’m really enjoyed working on.  This is a vintage owl. I got the pattern from Stitchy Britches.

Owl on a branch

I used a blue cotton/poly blend fabric. This actually used to be a shirt of my dads. His company merged and the logo changed so he can not wear any of his old shirts. My mom was gonna toss them but as a true greenie, I said “No! I can cut them up and use them!”

So, this part became the foundation for my owl. I really like owls.  This owl uses back stitch, stem stitch, split stitch, detached chain stitch, and satin stitch. I used six strands for everything, because I really like a heavy look.

Close up of a flower

The other big flower

Close up the owl belly

I used variegated thread on the owl belly designs and the feathers.  This was a fun project.  I framed this one and hung it up when I finished.

One comment

  1. beautiful



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

