Archive for September 29th, 2008

h1

Turn Off the Hot Water Heater

September 29, 2008

For the past year, I have been working to reduce my energy usage to reduce my carbon footprint and to lower my electric bill. My most recent saving measure has been to turn off my hot water heater during the day. According to my electric company, running a hot water heater can be as much as 20 percent of a typical electric bill. I started turning it off last month, and I received my bill this weekend. My usage went down 5 Kwh per day and my bill dropped overall 13 dollars from last month to this. The most telling number however is the one that shows my usage this year compared to last year. Last year in the same time period I used 36 Kwh a day and this year I used 21 Kwh per day! That’s a drop of 15 Kwh a day.

I’m thrilled about the drop because my electric company is warning of cost increases next month. I think I will be able to weather this increase because I am working so hard to minimize my usage.

Now, on to other, also fun news. ilexwhite is the winner of the outlet and light switch gaskets! Congratulations! ilexwhite if you will email me your address to katiebouch at gmail dot com, I will get those right out to you. Thank you to everyone who left comments thus entering my first giveaway. I had a lot of fun with this and as soon as I have something else new to giveaway, I’ll have another drawing.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.