Archive for September 23rd, 2008

h1

Make Your Own Dish Washing Soap

September 23, 2008

Last week I was on the road with my job. I stayed in a hotel where they give you a new bar of soap every day. I put all but one of the bars in my guest bathroom so that when I have company, they will have their very own soap to use. Since I make my friends use line dried towels, the least I can do is pamper them in what soap they have available. I used the last bar to make my own dish washing soap. I got the idea from reading about how to make your own laundry detergent. The main step in that is grating a bar of soap.

So, I thought I could make this work for dish soap. I grated the bar with my cheese grater. Now, I apologize for not having pictures of this fascinating process. Until I get a new camera, you will have to use your imagination. I know you can do it.

After I grated the small, thin bar of soap, I put the pieces and two cups of water in a pot. I heated the water enough to melt the soap, but not boil it. I stirred while it was melting, but I think that was just for my benefit. It would have melted either way. Once the soap was completely dissolved, I turned off the heat and let it cool. Then, using a funnel, I poured my new soap into my soap dispenser.

It was that easy.

I have washed dishes with it twice now and I have to say, I love it. My dishes are squeaky clean, no grease, no soap residue, and everything just shines. This was by far one of the easiest projects I have done.

I highly recommend trying this one. I used a small bar of soap I got free from the hotel, but you could do this with soap you already have on hand. If you have a regular sized bar of say, ivory soap, you could grate one third of the bar to two cups of water.

If you try this project, will you let me know in comments? I would love to hear how it works out for you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.