h1

New (to me) plant container

May 12, 2008

I read a post last week about recycling plastic water bottles, 2 liter bottles, and milk jugs into planters.  This seemed like such an easy project, I just had to try it.

I cut the top third of a plastic water bottle off, then put a little bit of cloth in the mouth of it to act as a wick, and a holder for the dirt.  I put my dirt on top of that, stuck my plant in and I was done with that part.

I put water in the bottom half, sat the top half into it, and I was finished.  :) It was that easy.  The great thing about a water bottle repurposed this way, it fits on my extremely narrow window sill.

I’ll take pics of the next ones I make.  I think this will be a great way to reuse these bottles, start herbs, and put pretty growing flowers all over the house.  Another great thing about this is, I will KNOW when the plant needs water, I will be able to see the water level at all times.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

